Cisco Knowledge Network

Service Provider Webinar Series

Network Service Mesh: An Introduction


Event Summary

Live Webcast, November 28th, 2018
8:00 AM PT / 11:00 AM ET / 16:00 PM GMT

Network Service Mesh (NSM) is a novel approach solving L2/L3 network use cases in Kubernetes that are tricky to address with the existing Kubernetes Network Model. Inspired by Istio, Network Service Mesh maps the concept of a service mesh to L2/L3 payloads.

Network Service Mesh enables a variety of types of Use Cases such as:

-Connecting Pods to:

  • VPN Gateways
  • Non-Kubernetes virtual bridge domains
  • The *right* physical NIC or SR-IOV VF for their needs
  • Multiple-interfaces

-Cloud-native NFV use cases

Network Service Mesh controls the L2/L3 data planes to deliver these types of use cases. Network Service Mesh enables users to express the context of their network needs in a Cloud Native manner, rather than manually stringing together disjoint interfaces, IPAM, and subnets.

We'd love to hear from you. Feedback, questions, or topic requests — send them our way: cknfeedback@external.cisco.com

Complete this form.
* required fields



Cisco only privacy policy: You are being invited to attend a Cisco-sponsored event. By providing your contact details, a representative may contact you regarding this event. All personal information will be handled in accordance with Cisco Privacy Statement.